Reason Being…We are Reason Beings

PaP56

A conversation between my uncle and I yesterday ignited a new fervor within me. I realized that I am rather irked by any misconception of religion, spirituality and science. Somehow there lies a passion in me to spread my experience and theories to perhaps help those who’ve never come to know notions concerning each. Now, I’m no pope, preacher or imam, I’ve never studied spirituality and I’m definitely not a scientist. All I am is a nomad. A pilgrim except I journey within the pages of books and words of wisdom from the elderly and wise. Fuel for me is from those who have known and experienced before me. Those who can tell stories because they have been through history and helped create it; they are the ones that give pages fire and that fire is the one I burn.

Through my exploration I’ve counted how many people have a misconception about religion; all religions. I’ve counted how many people don’t understand what it means to be spiritual and how many knock science and those that advocate it usually do so somewhat wrongly. I wondered where does the average man gather his theories from. Apart from quintessential education and life experiences, how does one actually come up with a theory about something completely independently. Is it through a process of eliminating what sounds utterly unrealistic as compared to something that could make sense. If two people are arguing religion they rarely refer to scripture or story but rather their “own” theory. Where did that come from? How did one come to understand? The only logical explanation is human bias and/or lack of exposure of encounter of new knowledge or perhaps an inclination to ignorance. Now its different when people argue science, since science organizes knowledge in the form of testable explanations and predictions about the universe. Logic. Things can be proven and questioned then later proven. Its almost always impossible to not prove a point. So when you ask a person where did they get that theory from they can perhaps say this experiment or that person’s theory. That person usually being that scientist.

I encourage people to read. Don’t just read an article or novels or the newspapers. Explore libraries and the internet in the most righteous ways. The only thing we can carry with us intimately is what is in our minds. No one can ever see what you are thinking and people cannot take away our knowledge. When we investigate into something, it becomes almost natural for the human mind to cling to something that was unknown before. Fascination helps keep a spark in life and when there comes a time to speak and share theories to one another it does not become an argument per say but rather a foundation that each person builds themselves and turns out into something that they have built together. The theories we will know will have truth and proof and this truthfulness can save us humiliation of guessing what is right and supporting what is wrong.

“Human reasoning is not simple, neat, and impeccable. It is not akin to a proof in logic. Instead, it draws no clear distinction between deduction, induction, and abduction, because it tends to exploit what we know. Reasoning is more a simulation of the world fleshed out with all our relevant knowledge than a formal manipulation of the logical skeletons of sentences. We build mental models, which represent distinct possibilities, or that unfold in time in a kinematic sequence, and we base our conclusions on them.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

