Lonely Romantic

It occurred to me that a lot of people don’t understand what it means to be a romantic or the true concept of romance. So, I found it urging to explain what it is since I, myself, am made of romantic bones and veins.
Before you assume that women are more romantic than men, please remember Shakespeare.
All my life I was led to believe that you can only feel true romance by being with someone who was truly in love with you. But I was proved wrong whilst falling in love in my adult life. It does not take two people to create romance, it actually comes from within and is expressed sometimes solely, sometimes to yourself only. I realized, two people can be together and only one of them is capable of romance. I don’t exactly understand how but I’d use myself as an example. But before I became a chronic writer I sought to made sense out of endearment and love. I was interested in the logic behind it and to this day I apply logic like its my breakfast to start the day.
Then I met Albert Einstein’s theory of logic; which stated that logic will take you from point A to point B, but idea will adventure you anywhere. This ignited me in a way that I soon became enticed by romance. I did not care to be blessed by the romance of a man or to be captured by the way he loved me. But I extended as a romantic woman, and it changed the way I operated as a person. In other words, I realized I did not need someone to do romantic things for me, I could have done them for me. I would look at the stars and dream, pick flowers and put them in my hair, spend a lonely rainy night drinking wine and playing Paolo Nutini records. It was beauty to treat myself as though I was a Queen. It prevented a certain heartache for me where perhaps a man would fall short since one thing I do not do is expect perfection or anything above what someone would provide selflessly. Love is not about expecting but about giving. Romance I believe is similar. If it isn’t freely expressed then like poop, it should not be forced.
I will always be romantic, despite any heartbreak or broken record. The romance in me does not only pursue me to love but it makes me life more colorful, it drives me to write, and to dress the way I do, to have my hair the way it lays and in the ways I want to help people.
You know I can’t remember the last time I slow danced to my favorite Billie Holiday. I used to do it all the time in my room; you know how you’d stretch your arms out to mimic dancing with someone, yes, I’ve engaged in that “madness”. But I don’t mind, that’s just me.

“I’ll Be Seeing You”- Billie Holiday

Leave a Reply

